HowToMakeMoneyOnSnapchat.com is an independent third party and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Snap Inc. Snapchat is a trademark of Snap Inc.

HowToMakeMoneyOnSnapchat.com

How to make money on Snapchat

Short answer: Snapchat has four official ways for creators to earn: the invitation-only Monetization Program (a share of ad revenue from Public Stories and Spotlight), brand deals and Sponsored Snaps, Creator Subscriptions (invitation only), and Lens Creator Rewards for people who build Lenses. A fifth path, Snap Star status, doesn't pay by itself, but the Monetization Program requires it. Meeting the published criteria never guarantees an invitation, and Snap publishes no earnings rate, so nobody can promise you an income.

HowToMakeMoneyOnSnapchat.com is an independent third party and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Snap Inc. Snapchat is a trademark of Snap Inc.

At a glance

The Monetization Program (Spotlight and Stories)

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date.

Snapchat places ads between Snaps in a Public Story or within a Spotlight, and creators in the program receive a share of revenue. Ads are served primarily based on time spent watching Stories and Spotlights.

Value: share of ad revenue from ads in Public Stories and Spotlight.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Snap does not publish a revenue-share percentage or rate; payment amounts use a proprietary formula (Monetization Terms §3).

The Monetization Program is open by invitation only; meeting the criteria does not guarantee an invitation. Snap notifies invited creators by email.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Effective date is the Monetization Terms effective date (February 1, 2025). Help page also states Snap does not charge fees for invitation and no third party controls eligibility.

Published criteria for an invitation

Creators may be eligible for invitation if they have at least 50,000 followers.

Value: 50,000 followers.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Effective date not stated on the source page. Same 50,000 figure also appeared in the Dec 16, 2024 newsroom announcement.

Achieve 15,000 hours of view time over the last 28 days.

Value: 15,000 hours.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Changed between Feb 10 and Feb 28, 2026 (per archived Snap help page; not announced by Snap).

Changed between 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap. Prior rule (Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Achieve one of the following in the last 28 days: 10 million Snap views, 1 million Spotlight views, or 12,000 hours of view time.: one of 10 million Snap views, 1 million Spotlight views, or 12,000 hours of view time in the last 28 days. Source: Snap Newsroom, "Snapchat Introduces New, Unified Monetization Program for Creators", Dec 16, 2024, https://newsroom.snap.com/snapchat-new-creator-monetization, verified 2026-09-27. Whether the 15,000 hours count Stories and Spotlight combined is implied ('of those hours coming from Spotlight') but not defined on the page.

At least 3,000 of the 15,000 hours of view time over the last 28 days must come from Spotlight.

Value: 3,000 hours.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Changed between Feb 10 and Feb 28, 2026 (per archived Snap help page; not announced by Snap).

Entry (invitation) criterion from the same help-page edit as the 15,000-hour view-time rule. Changed between 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap. Distinct from the 100-hour ongoing threshold for already-enrolled creators (Beginning May 7, 2026, creators already enrolled in the Monetization Program must maintain at least 100 hours of Total Spotlight View Time on their posts over the last 28 days to qualify for maximum Creator Rewards (tracked under 'Daily Rewards Eligibility' in Insights).).

Creator must be a Snap Star to be eligible for invitation.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Snap Star status is granted by Snap after application; a user may self-report it.

Be at least 18 years old or the local age of legal majority in your country (primary age requirement shown to users).

Value: 18 or the local age of majority.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Primary age requirement (help page). Supplementary, where applicable: the Monetization Terms' Minimum Eligibility mentions participation from age 16 with parental consent (see Monetization Terms Minimum Eligibility: individuals must be at least the age of legal majority in their jurisdiction (or, if applicable, at least 16 years old with parental consent); entities' representatives must be at least 18 (or legal age of majority).); this is a note, not an equal alternative.

Monetization Terms Minimum Eligibility: individuals must be at least the age of legal majority in their jurisdiction (or, if applicable, at least 16 years old with parental consent); entities' representatives must be at least 18 (or legal age of majority).

Value: age of legal majority in jurisdiction; or at least 16 with parental/guardian consent where applicable.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Supplementary note referenced from Be at least 18 years old or the local age of legal majority in your country (primary age requirement shown to users). ('where applicable'). Not an equal alternative to the primary requirement of 18 or the local age of majority. Requires user confirmation because majority age and parental-consent rules depend on jurisdiction.

Creator must reside in an eligible country. Countries listed for 'Snapchat Monetization Program Ads within Stories and Spotlights' payouts.

43 countries: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Korea (the Republic of), Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands (the), New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines (the), Poland, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

43 countries. Identical list appears on the payout-countries help article under the older label 'Creator Midroll Ads within Stories'. The Creator Rewards FAQ (5909152630420) shows a shorter, older-looking generic list (37 countries; missing Colombia, Lebanon, Malaysia, Pakistan, Poland, Spain) — treated as stale. Monetization Terms say the Eligible Regions list is in the 'Creator Rewards Guidelines', which we could not locate as a standalone page.

Publish original, advertiser-friendly content compliant with Community Guidelines and Content Guidelines for Recommendation Eligibility.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Comply with the Monetization Terms and the Creator Monetization Policy.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Snapchat account and Payment Account must be active, in good standing (as determined by Snap), and compliant with the Monetization Terms at all times; creator must pass Snap's and the Payment Provider's compliance review.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Determined by Snap.

Snap employees/officers/directors (and of its affiliates), government entities and their affiliates, and members of a royal family are not eligible.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

If you meet all of these, you meet the published criteria. The invitation is still Snap's decision.

The posting-frequency (Consistency) requirements (at least 25 posts a month and posting on 10 of the last 28 days) were removed.

Historical

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Changed between Feb 10 and Feb 28, 2026 (per archived Snap help page; not announced by Snap).

Verified 2026-09-27 from archived Snap help snapshots and the Dec 16, 2024 Snap Newsroom post for the prior values ((Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Post at least 25 times per month to Saved Stories or Spotlight. and (Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Post to either Spotlight or Public Stories on at least 10 of the last 28 days.; https://newsroom.snap.com/snapchat-new-creator-monetization). Changed between 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap.

After you're in

For Spotlight videos to be eligible to earn revenue, they must be at least 30 seconds long.

Value: 30 seconds.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Per-video condition, not an account eligibility criterion. Effective date not stated. Supersedes the Dec 2024 announcement that Spotlight videos 'longer than 1 minute' could be monetized ((Historical) Beginning February 1, 2025, eligible creators could monetize Spotlight videos longer than 1 minute.).

Beginning May 7, 2026, creators already enrolled in the Monetization Program must maintain at least 100 hours of Total Spotlight View Time on their posts over the last 28 days to qualify for maximum Creator Rewards (tracked under 'Daily Rewards Eligibility' in Insights).

Value: 100 hours.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Effective .

Ongoing requirement for creators already enrolled in the Monetization Program; not an entry (invitation) requirement. The help article on tracking it says it 'applies to users currently enrolled in Snapchat's Ads Monetization Program.' Snap's wording is 'to qualify for maximum Creator Rewards'. Snap does not say what happens below 100 hours. Also confirmed on help article 47748552848660.

Payment amounts are determined by Snap's proprietary formula, which may consider post frequency and timing, number of ads distributed, use of Snapchat Creative Tools, and user engagement; in-app amounts are estimates.

Value: proprietary formula.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

No public rate per view/hour exists in official sources.

Snap may exclude activity that artificially inflates views or engagement (bots, click farms, paid inducements, view trading) from Qualifying Activity and payments.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

If you reside outside the United States, you (and any collaborator/contributor/administrator posting from your account) must be physically located outside the United States and within an Eligible Region when performing Qualifying Activity.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Getting paid

Creators can cash out once available Creator Rewards reach at least $100 USD; cash-out can be done daily.

Value: 100 usd.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Also stated in Monetization Terms §3 (minimum payment threshold of $100 USD), the Payout Portal article and the Creator Subscriptions Terms summary.

Creator Rewards take 14 days from appearing in 'All Activity' to move from Pending to Available.

Value: 14 days.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Also on Creator Rewards FAQ.

After initiating a cash out, it typically takes an additional 14 days or longer for cash to reach the Snapchat Payout Portal (Hyperwallet).

Value: 14 days.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

'Typically... or longer' — a typical minimum, not a guarantee.

Payouts are made via the Snapchat Payout Portal operated by Hyperwallet; onboarding requires legal name, email, state/country, phone and birthdate matching tax documents/ID, then Hyperwallet activation.

Value: Hyperwallet (Snapchat Payout Portal).

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Being fully onboarded for payouts is a prerequisite to cash out (help page 14669003687444).

Payments are made in USD; withdrawing in local currency or via a given method (e.g., bank account, PayPal) is subject to the payment provider's transaction/exchange fees.

Value: USD; provider withdrawal fees apply.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Fee amounts are set by the payment provider and were not verified.

If there is no Qualifying Activity for one year, or no valid payment request for two years, Snap will disburse attributed payments at the end of that period, subject to compliance; otherwise the creator loses eligibility for that payment.

Value: 1 year inactivity or 2 years without request.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Payout Portal article phrases it as available balance unchanged for one year OR not cashed out in two years, and requires at least $100 available.

Creators are solely responsible for taxes, duties, or fees on payments; Snap or its Payment Provider may withhold taxes where required by law.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Not tax advice.

Onboarding to the Snapchat Payout Portal requires a valid W-9 (US) or W-8 (international) form; year-end tax forms are available under Resources > Tax Documents, issued per IRS deadlines (usually January/February).

Value: W-9 (US) / W-8 (international).

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Payout Portal article adds taxpayer verification can take up to 2 weeks.

Taxpayer verification in the Payout Portal can take up to 2 weeks.

Value: 14 days.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Stated as 'up to 2 weeks'.

History

(Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Achieve one of the following in the last 28 days: 10 million Snap views, 1 million Spotlight views, or 12,000 hours of view time.

Historical

Value: one of 10 million Snap views, 1 million Spotlight views, or 12,000 hours of view time in the last 28 days.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Effective .

Announced Dec 16, 2024 in Snap Newsroom. Verified 2026-09-27. Replaced by 15,000 hours of view time in the last 28 days, at least 3,000 from Spotlight (Achieve 15,000 hours of view time over the last 28 days. and At least 3,000 of the 15,000 hours of view time over the last 28 days must come from Spotlight.). The replacement date is a range, not a single announced day. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap.

(Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Post at least 25 times per month to Saved Stories or Spotlight.

Historical

Value: 25 posts.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Effective .

Announced Dec 16, 2024 in Snap Newsroom. These Consistency requirements were removed in the same help-page edit as the 15,000-hour view-time rule. See The posting-frequency (Consistency) requirements (at least 25 posts a month and posting on 10 of the last 28 days) were removed.. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap.

(Historical, Dec 2024 criteria) Post to either Spotlight or Public Stories on at least 10 of the last 28 days.

Historical

Value: 10 days.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Effective .

Announced Dec 16, 2024 in Snap Newsroom. These Consistency requirements were removed in the same help-page edit as the 15,000-hour view-time rule. See The posting-frequency (Consistency) requirements (at least 25 posts a month and posting on 10 of the last 28 days) were removed.. Per archived Snap help page (Wayback Machine snapshots of support article 14669003687444 on 2026-02-10 and 2026-02-28); not announced by Snap.

(Historical) Beginning February 1, 2025, eligible creators could monetize Spotlight videos longer than 1 minute.

Historical

Value: 60 seconds.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Effective .

Current help page says at least 30 seconds. Date of change not stated.

The Spotlight Rewards Program ended on January 31, 2025 and the Spotlight Terms were terminated; replaced by the unified Monetization Program.

Historical

Value: 2025-01-31.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Effective .

Payment requests for qualifying Snaps through Jan 31, 2025 allowed for up to 2 years from notification. The payout-countries help page still shows a 'Spotlight Reward Program' country list (legacy).

(Historical) Countries listed as eligible for the Spotlight Reward Program payouts.

Historical

39 countries: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Korea (the Republic of), Kuwait, Libya, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands (the), New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Philippines (the), Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Still displayed on the help page, but the program ended Jan 31, 2025 per help article 7012310905876.

Snap Star

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date.

Creators or public figures apply for Snap Star verification via an official Snap form; Snap decides based on many factors and no one is entitled to a Snap Star regardless of audience size.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Approval is discretionary.

Factors Snap considers: account engagement (large and engaged audience), stories for a public audience, authenticity (real person; general interest accounts not eligible), notability and cultural relevance, and content quality, plus compliance with Terms and Community Guidelines.

Value: account_engagement, stories_for_public_audience, authenticity, notability_cultural_relevance, content_quality.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Numeric follower/view thresholds for Snap Star verification.

Unverified

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Snap's official page lists only qualitative factors and publishes no numeric threshold. Third-party sites claim figures; none are used.

Snap does not charge fees or accept money for Snap Star verification, and no third party influences Snap Star decisions.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

The Monetization Program help page separately states Snap charges no fees for invitation to the Monetization Program.

Public Profiles

Snapchatters aged 16+ have a Public Profile by default; accounts younger than 16 (or with past Community Guidelines violations) may not have one.

Value: 16 years.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

16-17 year olds have restricted public posting defaults (help article 30741509382420).

Professional Accounts (Creator or Business type) are limited to Snapchatters aged 18 and older and are not available to everyone.

Value: 18 years.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Feature availability also limited ('isn't available to everyone at this time').

Brand Partnerships and Sponsored Snaps

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date.

Commercial content (paid, gifted, loaned, or promoting your own products) must identify its commercial nature and the promoted brand, and must be labeled with Snap's paid partnership tool.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Snap Commercial Content Policy effective July 2, 2026. Only Snaps carrying the disclosure are eligible for amplification beyond the Public Profile.

Snapchatters with a Public Profile can add a 'Paid Partnership' label to public Snaps (Public Story, Spotlight, Snap Map) from the Send To screen.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Only Snap Stars can tag a brand when posting Spotlight, Snap Map, and Public Story Snaps; once the brand approves, performance data is shared with the brand and the brand can boost the content.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

For a creator to appear in a Sponsored Snap, the brand must send the creator's Public Profile a 'Pre-Approved Creator - Ad Partner' permission invite, which the creator accepts.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Sponsored Snaps are an ad format run by advertisers; compensation between brand and creator is not governed by any published Snap rate.

If a creator is eligible for monetization, brands may discover their Public Profile and invite them to partner.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Commercial content and the promoted brand/product must be suitable for Snapchatters ages 13+ (with additional age-targeting duties for alcohol, dating, weight loss, gambling, certain financial and pharma products); political/advocacy commercial content is not permitted.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Summary of a long policy.

Requirements to participate in Snap Star Collab Studio.

Unverified

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Business Help), verified .

Snap Newsroom (Dec 16, 2024 and Feb 17, 2026) names the Snap Star Collab Studio as an existing monetization offering. No requirements could be confirmed.

Creator Subscriptions

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date. Creator Subscriptions records are included here even when they sit outside the calculator scope.

Creator Subscriptions are available only to select creators; Snapchat emails invited creators. There is no public application/waitlist currently.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Creator Subscriptions Terms (effective Sep 1, 2026) also state 'The Program is open by invitation only.' No numeric eligibility criteria published.

Subscribers pay a monthly subscription fee through their eligible device's app store; creators set pricing within ranges/tiers provided by Snap, which Snap may change at any time.

Value: monthly; app-store billed; creator-set price within Snap ranges.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Help article 48009542675604 confirms monthly app-store billing.

Allowed monthly price range for Creator Subscriptions.

Unverified

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Official sources say only that prices are set 'within the ranges provided by Snap' / 'Snap-recommended tiers'. Specific dollar figures seen in third-party press (e.g., CNBC) are not on any official page fetched today.

Creator share of Creator Subscriptions revenue.

Unverified

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Terms: creator receives a portion of Gross Revenue (after taxes, platform/app-store fees and refunds) and Snap retains a Fee 'determined by Snap in its sole discretion'. No percentage is published officially; third-party percentages are not used.

Creator Subscriptions earnings use the same cash-out path as other eligible creator programs (Hyperwallet) and appear in the Creator Rewards Hub labeled 'Creator Subscriptions'.

Value: Creator Rewards Hub / Hyperwallet.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Snap Creator Subscriptions Terms effective date.

Value: 2026-09-01.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Terms incorporate 'Creator Payment Terms', which we could not locate as a standalone page (the Minimum Eligibility for subscriptions is defined there).

Creators must not use music in Creator Subscription content unless they hold all rights or have obtained all necessary licenses.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Alpha testing launched February 23, 2026 with select US-based creators, with plans to expand to additional Snap Stars in Canada, the U.K., and France.

Historical

Value: US (alpha, 2026-02-23); planned: Canada, U.K., France.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Effective .

Launch-time fact (Feb 17, 2026 announcement). Whether expansion to CA/UK/FR happened is NOT confirmed by any official source fetched today; current market availability is unverified.

Lens Creator Rewards

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date. Lens Creator Rewards records are included here even when they sit outside the calculator scope.

Lens Creator Rewards is open to creators at least 18 years of age.

Value: 18 years.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap for Developers), verified .

Lens Creator Rewards is open to creators based in listed eligible countries.

42 countries: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea (the Republic of), Kuwait, Libya, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands (the), New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines (the), Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap for Developers), verified .

42 countries per Snap for Developers. DISCREPANCY: the Snapchat Support payout-countries article lists a Lens Creator Rewards payout list without Israel, Japan, and Pakistan.

Top Performer Payouts: a newly submitted public Lens must reach at least 15,000 Qualified Posters (unique users in Qualified Regions posting a Snap with the Lens) within 90 days of submission.

Value: 15,000 unique_posters.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap for Developers), verified .

Per-Lens condition. No follower/view prerequisites for the creator.

Engagement for Top Performer Payouts is measured only in Qualified Regions.

11 countries: United States, France, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, Germany, Canada, Australia, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, United Arab Emirates.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap for Developers), verified .

Qualified Regions differ from the countries creators may participate from.

Lens+ Payouts (introduced October 16, 2025) are available only to approved creators and pay revenue share on Exclusive Lenses available to Lens+ and Platinum subscribers.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap for Developers), verified .

Effective .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Revenue share rate not published.

What gets content demonetized

Each record below is copied from the rules database: the claim, the official source, and the verified date.

Monetizable content must be original with clear creative effort; reposted content must be highly transformative (e.g., reaction with face visible and speaking throughout, reviews, creative editing, attributed clips with commentary). Content from simple automation or formulaic assembly is not monetizable.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Policy has no stated effective date on the page.

Content made with sophisticated editing or AI tools is monetizable only if original, entertaining or informative, not misleading, and the use of AI is disclosed in the content or creator profile.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Not monetizable (non-exhaustive): unoriginal/automated curation, repetitive or template-based content, reusing the same tile, reposting the same content as new, and misleading engagement bait.

Value: unoriginal_or_automated_curation, repetitive_or_template_content, engagement_bait, deceptively_manipulated_media, fake_reaction_content.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Snap evaluates accounts holistically with human and algorithmic moderation.

Creators who primarily or frequently publish content 'not eligible for recommendation' are most likely not good candidates for monetization.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Content Guidelines for Recommendation Eligibility apply (in addition to Community Guidelines) to Spotlight, Public Stories, and Snap Map; not to Chat/Private Stories.

Value: Spotlight, Public Stories, Snap Map.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Sensitive content may not be recommended to minors, new users, or some countries.

As of July 2026, wholly AI-generated videos are no longer eligible for recommendation on Spotlight; content enhanced or edited with Snapchat's own AI tools remains eligible.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Newsroom), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Announcement dated July 31, 2026 says 'As of this month' (i.e., July 2026); exact day not stated. Quality guideline page says ranking 'rewards authentic, human-made content over wholly AI-generated content created outside of Snapchat'.

Not eligible for recommendation: substandard video quality (blurry, low-res, wrong orientation, letterboxed, missing audio), unwarned flashes/strobes, illegible tile text, certain off-platform links, promotion of accounts on other platforms, unoriginal content.

Value: substandard_video_quality, flashes_without_warning, illegible_tile_text, off_platform_links, promotion_of_other_platform_accounts, unoriginal_content.

Source: Snap Inc. (Snap Values / policy), verified .

Needs confirmation from the creator. We do not infer it.

Other recorded facts

These approved records are the ones that did not fit the paths above, including programs that have ended.

The Creator Gifting Program (Gifts in replies, tracked in Crystals under the Snap Creator Terms) ended on February 10, 2025.

Historical

Value: 2025-02-10.

Source: Snap Inc. (snap.com legal terms), verified .

Effective .

Legacy Creator Terms (effective Sept 29, 2021) still hosted with the ending notice.

Snap stopped using Crystals to track qualifying activity; rewards are shown as Creator Rewards in USD and the 'Crystals Hub' became the 'Rewards Hub'. Existing value unchanged.

Historical

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

Page says 'Starting soon' and gives no date; effective date unknown.

Status of Spotlight Challenges (historical prize program).

Unverified

Source: Snap Inc. (Snapchat Support), verified .

A search-engine summary claimed it ended May 1, 2024, but that is not an official source. Creator Rewards FAQ still references 'Spotlight Challenges Official Rules' in passing.

Avoid scams

Read the sourced records before you pay anyone who offers verification or an invitation: Snap Star fees and Monetization Program invitations.

Check your numbers

Our free calculator compares your followers and view time with the published criteria and shows any shortfall. It doesn't need your Snapchat login, and it never says "eligible," only whether you meet the published criteria. AI assistants can use the same tools through our API and MCP server. Compare your numbers with the published-criteria calculator, call the MCP server, or read the docs.

Last verified: (rules_db_version 2026-09-28.1). Rules change; always check Snap's official pages. HowToMakeMoneyOnSnapchat.com is an independent third party and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Snap Inc. Snapchat is a trademark of Snap Inc. This page is not financial or tax advice.